Lyali (third teaser)

“They took your parents.” Marethal said as Dustin released me.

“Who?” He demanded.

“It was a group of people. They took them while everyone was still fighting.” Daven answered. “They all left as soon as your parents were gone.

“I’m going after them.” Dustin said, turning away.

“They took Sera Leah also.” Daven added as Dustin started walking away.

Dustin didn’t even look back. He paused for a second and then kept walking. I knew he was upset just because of that. I ran after him but he was already in his room when I caught up to him. I knocked on the door and walked in.

“What?” he asked, not even turning to look at me.

“I’m going with you.” I answered.

“It’s not your fight.” He answered pulling out the boots he used for training with my mom.

“If it’s yours it’s mine, Dustin you know that.” I replied.

“Get dressed then.” He said, not even trying to argue it.

I left the room and went into mine. Almost right after I closed the door there was a knock. I thought it was Dustin so I waited for him to walk in but instead there was just another knock. I got up and answered it and it was Dante. I was embarrassed for leaving him behind and I felt bad.

“I’m sorry.” I said. “But I have to go.”

“Let me come with.” He replied.

“I don’t know when we will get back.” I stated.

“So, I don’t have anything else to do.” He said.

“It’s going to be dangerous.” I added as I grabbed the armor and stuff I always used when I was out hunting with Dustin.

“I live for danger.” He said as I pulled the armor over the clothes I was wearing.

“I can’t ask you to do this with me.” I said standing up to get my boots.

“You’re not.” He said as I put my boots on.

I grabbed the throwing knives my mom had me train with out of the closet and  the daggers I kept under my pillow. I strapped the daggers on me, one on each side of my hip. Then I put the throwing knives inside one of my boots to where the handles were sticking out. I walked out of the room and Dante followed.

“Are you ready?” Dustin asked as he came out of his room.

“Yep.” I answered as we started walking down the stairs back into the main room.

“Come with me.” Marethal demanded as we walked into the main room.

We followed him without any questions asked. He led us to the house that he and Elder Marrialli stayed in right behind the castle. He took us down to his basement which was his workshop I assumed when we got down there because he had everything he needed to make weapons.

“I’ve been making you two these swords since you were babies.” He said as he opened a cupboard.

He pulled out a pair of swords that were both made out of black steel with emeralds encrusted in the handle. He handed them to me and I thanked him. He then pulled out another pair of swords that were made out of white steel that had Sapphires encrusted in them. He handed them to Dustin. Before Dustin could thank him he led us over to another cabinet.

“Take whatever you need.” He said as he opened it. “You too sir.” He added when Dante just stood there.

Dante grabbed a bow and arrows, then a two handed sword. Dustin and I already had everything we need so we just grabbed sheaths for our weapons and put them on. Then we got the first aid stuff out of the cupboard which all he had was bandages and the stuff to sew wounds up, which was fine with us. He held a bag open for us to put everything in and he also handed us canteens for water.

“Thank you Marethal.” I said, bowing my head to him.

“You’re welcome my dear.” He replied as we all walked back out of the house.

We all got on horses after that and left. Dante was riding with me just so there would be a couple of horses left in case they needed to take my parents to a healer. We rode to the place where I and Dustin always went when we were stressed. We brought the horses inside with us this time so that they could drink from the spring. We put up the two tents we brought. Dustin went to gather firewood as soon as we got the tents up.

“Are you ok?” Dante asked as I sat down in the grass.

“I’ll be fine.” I answered as he sat down next to me.

“You don’t look like it.” He stated.

“Well my parents are possibly going to die and my cousins got kidnapped.” I said, looking at him.

“So you’re not ok?” He asked.

“I’ll be fine.” I said as Dustin walked through the entrance with the fire wood.

“Well if you want to talk about it, I’ll be here.” He said getting up to help Dustin with the firewood.

After they got the fire going I just went into the tent and rolled out my sleeping bag. I lied down on top of it and tried to sleep but I couldn’t. When the fire got put out I decided to go practice with my new swords so I could get used to the way they handle.

They were light but tough and sharp. They went through everything I swung them at. They didn’t slow me down either. I was moving quicker and able to jump higher with them than I ever was before. The handles were perfect for my hands.

Leave a Reply

