Lyali (8th Teaser)

The dream started with the argument that me and Dante got into. Then what I yelled at Dustin. I was reliving the entire night. It got to where the creature got me and I started screaming, I was waiting for Dante to come and get me but he never came. The creature was right on top of me and I was lying helpless. “What’s going on?” I heard in the background. I couldn’t wake up though as much as I wanted too.  A bunch of the creatures came after me also and then there was a bunch of people chasing after them. The creature that was on me scratched at my face and my chest then it ran off. I thought I saw my parents and Dustin’s father but I didn’t know for sure. Still screaming in pain I heard my Mother’s voice “Wake up”.

“What did you do to her?!” I heard Dante yelling at the elder.

“I don’t know what went wrong.” She answered.

“We are leaving now; I don’t care if you saw what you needed!” He said with a raised voice, then he walked over to the bed. “Hey.”

“What’s going on?” I asked.

“We are leaving.” He said, picking me up off the bed. “Before they can hurt you again.”

What is he talking about? I thought it was just a dream they didn’t hurt me the nightmare just didn’t end when it was supposed to. I thought to myself as He carried me out of the tent without saying anything to anyone.

He put me on the horse and climbed onto it also. Dustin and Sera Leah hurried up and climbed onto their horse too, Dustin questioned why we were leaving so soon but Dante just ignored him. We stopped in the middle of a forest and Dante climbed off the horse and grabbed me and got me down. Then he carried me over to a tree and put me down.

“I’ll get the tent set up ok.” He said, brushing the hair out of my face. It stung when he did and I had no Idea why.

“What happened to her?” Dustin asked.

“They almost killed her.” Dante answered, grabbing the tent.

I didn’t realize it until then but my shirt was bloody. I felt my face and realized it was scratched up just like in the dream. I pulled my shirt away from my skin and realized my chest was too. Now I understood why Dante was so angry.

“How?” Dustin asked looking over at me.

“I don’t know, but everything that happened in her dream that wasn’t already there is there now.” Dante said, almost angrily.

I was still in a daze from all of it, and now in more pain than before. Everything they were doing was a blur to me. Dustin and Sera Leah went and got the firewood and Dante was doing something inside the tent. After the fire got started Dante came out of the tent and sat by me. I leant against him and I thought I felt a tear hit my shoulder.

“What happened back there?” I asked him, wondering why the ritual went so wrong.

“I don’t know for sure but I think they used the wrong herb.” He answered. “I am so sorry Lyali.”

“It’s not your fault.” I said, trying to make him feel better about it.

“But I trusted her and I left you alone, maybe if I was there I could have stopped it before that happened to you.” He said starting to run his fingertips up and down my arm.

“But you didn’t know that was going to happen.” I said, yawning after I was done talking.

“Here, let me help you into bed.” He said getting up and helping me into the tent.

The bag I was going to sleep on had padding under it, which I assumed was what Dante was doing in here. Dante walked out of the tent and I heard his and Dustin’s voice. I couldn’t make out anything that they were saying. Dustin then came in the tent.

“I need to rub this ointment on your… injuries.” He said holding up a container.

“Ok.” I answered, looking to see if Dante was going to come in the tent or not.

“Tell me if I hurt you ok.” He said as he started rubbing the ointment on my face.

I grunted a couple of times which caused him to pause every time I did. It only took about twenty minutes for him to finish putting on the ointment. He bandaged everything up, kissed me on the forehead and said goodnight. I heard him and Dante talking again. I just lied down in the bed and tried to sleep. Dante came in the tent and lied in the sleeping bag next to me.

“Dante.” I almost whispered.

“Yes?” he asked.

“How bad is it?” I asked.

“The wounds will heal.” He answered.

“I mean my face.” I  said.

“You’re still the most beautiful person I’ve ever seen.” He said. “But it won’t scar, it looks like it barely got you.”

“What about the other one?” I asked.

“Those might scar, but there’s nothing wrong with that.” He answered grabbing and holding onto my hand.

“Dante…kiss me.” I said so quiet I was surprised he heard me.

He moved close to me quickly, moved the hair out of my face and started kissing me. I moved as close to him as possible and pushed my body up against his. He had his hand at my jawline and moved it down to my waist. I pulled him on top of me the best I could. A few minutes after that he pulled away.

“Lyali, I can’t, we have to stop.” He said breathing heavily.

“Don’t,” I pleaded almost breathing as heavily as he was.

“You don’t want it to go any further than this.” He answered.

“Dante?” I started.

“And if you do I won’t do it like this.” He said interrupting me. “You deserve so much better than a tent in the woods, with a guy that you don’t want a relationship with.”

“I want to be with you, and it took all of this happening for me to figure it out.” I answered.

“You still deserve better than this.” He said. “But I still want to be with you.”

“Ok.” I answered.

Dante just lied next to me after that. He held me close again and ran his fingertips up and down my side. I fell asleep after just a few minutes. I was so comfortable in his arms it was crazy. I didn’t wake up screaming this time either, which was weird because I always did when Dante wasn’t there. I woke up late in the afternoon and Dante was just lying there next to me, wide awake.

Leave a Reply

