Shyria (4th teaser)

When I woke up I had my arm across his chest and my legs were intertwined with his. I jumped out of my sleeping bag and ran out of the tent blushing worse than ever before with my heart racing.

“Wait!” Faeron hollered as he followed me out of the tent.

“I am so sorry.” I answered. “I move in my sleep, I am very sorry.”

“It is ok I do not blame you for what happens when you are asleep.” He replied, smiling. “It is not like you climbed out of your sleeping bag and did it on purpose.”

After that we just packed up everything and started walking again. He kept looking over at me and it made me blush every time. I was still embarrassed about what happened that morning, but it did not seem to bother him at all. The day was quiet for the most part but around daybreak we saw a couple of people walking down the trail we were on. Faeron hid in the bushes and I jumped into a tree.

As they got closer I could make out what they looked like. They were both elven; a man and a woman. The woman had brown hair and she had a tanned skin tone.  The man had blond hair and was pale like most elven. He had muscles but his were not as defined as Faeron’s were.  When they got closer Faeron climbed out of the bush he was hiding in.

“Jarret, Denyse what are you guys doing here?” He asked hugging them both.

“We haven’t seen you in a while so we decided to come and visit.” The girl said.

“Oh well I am headed to my father’s house now.” He replied.

“Well we could come with you if that is alright?” the guy asked.

I jumped out of the tree before Faeron could say anything and landed right in front of him. When my feet hit the ground it caused a sharp pain to go through the wound in my stomach, I almost fell to my knees but Faeron caught me.

“I do not have time for this, you should go with them.” I said as he helped me stand back up.

“I am not going to abandon you.” He said as he brushed a strand of hair away from the cuts by my eye.

“Then what are we going to do?” I asked stubbornly putting my hands on my hips.

“They want to come with us.” He stated.

“But it is dangerous.” I interrupted. “And how do we know that they are not working for Eloan?”

“Because they are my best friends.” He argued.

“Then do what you want.” I said and started walking again.

Without another word they all started following me. I stayed a decent distance in front of them though. They were talking and catching up from what I could hear but the girl kept hanging on Faeron which did kind of make me jealous. She was really pretty so I would understand if they were together. I still wanted to rip her throat out though.

We made camp in the same cave I did right before Eloan’s men found me. They all sat around the campfire but I decided to hide in my tent. Luckily Jarret and Denyse had their own because my tent only had room for two. Right after I took my mask off Faeron came into the tent.

“Why are you in here all by yourself?” He asked. “Come out and get to know them, Not everybody is out to kill you and hand you over.”

“Because they cannot find out who I am.” I answered as I played with my hair.

“So put your mask back on then.” He replied with a smirk.

“You guys should catch up though, I will be fine.” I said. “They are your friends and you barely even know me.”

“Just come on, you should get to know them too. They are really nice and it is a longer journey with two strangers.” He added.

“Fine I will be out in a minute.” I answered grabbing my mask.

“You better be.” He said smiling at me right before he walked out of the tent.

I put my mask back on and pulled my hair back. It was bothering me because it always got into the scratches on my face by my eyes and it stung. When I walked out of the tent Denyse was extremely close to Faeron which really made me jealous and I did not know why.

I wanted to go over there and punch her in the face so I sat down on the other side of Faeron, which was in between him and Jarret. Denyse was complaining that she was cold so Faeron gave her his shirt. Anger filled my entire body, until he took his shirt off anyways. As much as I tried not to I kept glancing over at his muscles. Every muscle on him was so toned and defined there was no way someone wouldn’t notice them.

“So I do not think we ever got your name.” Jarret stated.

“Umm.” I started, looking over at Faeron and realizing he was nodding for me to tell him. “My name is Shyria.”

“That is a beautiful name.” He said.

“Thank you.” I answered.

“So why do you wear a mask?  The top half of your face looks good why are you hiding the rest of it?” He asked.

“I cannot answer that.” I stated.

“Shyria are you ok?” Faeron asked, breaking the awkward silence.

“Yeah I am fine.” I answered, just barely realizing that I was shivering.

“Well you are shivering and your hands are turning blue.” He added.

“I am alright.” I reassured.

“Here” He said, scooting closer to me and wrapping his arm around me. “I will keep you warm.”

I started blushing uncontrollably and Denyse glared at me for like five minutes after that. Then she stormed off to her tent and I could not help but to smile about it. Jarret left shortly after that. It was just me and Faeron now. We sat there for a while in silence. I still felt awkward from that morning and I think he knew how awkward I felt. It did not help that I was actually falling in love with him either.

“So what really happened at the castle, I am sure Marrialli told you, my mother never would?” He asked. “She did not like talking about it.”

“All I know is my mother and grandfather killed Eloan’s father. She wanted revenge so she and a bunch of assassins raided the castle and killed everyone in it. Marrialli and I were the only ones to escape. I was only three when it happened so all I know is what I am told.” I answered.

“So you never really knew your parents?” He asked looking at me like he was shocked.

“Nope, all I have left of them are the weapons I carry. Marrialli always told me I look exactly like my mother but I do not know if that is true or not.” I added glancing down at the ground.

“How old are you?” He asked.

“I am almost eighteen, I will be in three months; what about you? I replied.

“I just turned twenty.” He answered.

“I am going to get some rest.” I said as I stood up.

“I will put the fire out and be in.” He replied as I climbed into the tent.

I lied in my sleeping bag but it was freezing cold so I could not fall asleep. I practically rolled into a ball trying to keep myself from freezing but it was not helping. Faeron came in shortly after that.

“Shyria, you are freezing.” He said rushing over to me.

“I will be fine.” I answered, pulling my sleeping bag in more to try and keep myself warmer.

“No you are not; you are going to get hypothermia.” He said, laughing I was assuming at how stubborn I was being.

“There is nothing we can do about it though. I will be alright.” I returned.

“Body heat.” He answered.

“What?” I asked surprised and wasn’t sure if I heard him right or not.

“If we share a sleeping bag we will share body heat and that will keep us both warmer.” He answered with a grin.

“I think we have pissed off your girlfriend enough for one day.” I replied.

“What are you talking about? I do not have a girlfriend.” He stated as he climbed into my sleeping bag behind me.

“I thought Denyse was…” I started.

“Whoa, Denyse is just a friend, she likes me a lot but I do not feel the same way about her.” He interrupted.

“Oh, I am sorry with how she was acting towards you… I assumed.” I answered, trying not to show how excited I was about it.

That was the end of the conversation for that night. Faeron held me really close to him which did keep me really warm. I fell asleep really quickly that night. When I woke up Faeron was not in the tent anymore. I put my mask on and walked out of the tent. Denyse glared at me when I got out of the tent but Faeron just smiled at me.

Leave a Reply

