Shyria (8th)

“You are not sick, are you?” I asked out of nowhere.

“No I am not, but in my defense I told her that… a lot.” He started. “But she would not listen to me.”

“Well how did you make yourself feel warm?” I asked out of curiosity.

“You cannot tell me that your body temperature does not rise when you are with Faeron, especially when he got close to you or his body touched you.” He answered.

“You like her.” I stated.

“A lot,” He added. “And she has no clue.”

“Then you need to tell her.” I answered.

“I cannot do that.” He stated as his cheeks flushed a deep red.

“Yes you can.” I said. “I told Faeron.”

“No you did not you just accidentally kissed him one day.” He said putting his face into his hands.

“Yeah, you are right.” I answered. “But he knows now, Denyse has no clue, but if it will make you comfortable I will tell him when they get back.”

“I am not going to tell her.” He said. “Can we just change the subject?”

We pretty much just talked about random stuff after that and then he helped me into the room when I got tired. He said goodnight and still did not seem the same when he walked out of the room. I had a feeling that he wanted to tell her but I somehow knew he was not going to. I lit the only candle in my room and just lied there waiting for Faeron and Denyse to come back. I ended up falling asleep before they got back though. When I woke up he was awake also.

“Good morning Beautiful.” He said almost as soon as my eyes were open.

“Hey handsome.” I answered before I could even realize what I was saying.

He brushed a strand of hair out of my face and kissed me. I pulled him on top of me and put my arms around his neck while he was still kissing me. I took his shirt off and he started raising mine up again while he was still kissing me. He touched the stitches that were on my back though and pulled away quickly.

“I cannot.” He said as he got off the bed and put his shirt back on. “I just cannot.”

“We do not have to.” I answered.

“That is just it I will not be able to control myself if we keep going.” He said.

“Ok.” I said as I pulled my shirt down, a little irritated. “I will stop.”

“Shyria,” He started, grabbing my hand to stop me from walking out of the door.

“What?” I asked turning to look at him.

“It is not that I do not want to.” He started. “I do want to so bad it is driving me crazy but I am not going to risk hurting you more than you already are.”

“I understand.” I said trying to avoid the conversation.

“Any more of this right now and I will not be able to stop myself.” He said, with a huge sigh.

We stayed there for another week, Faeron and I barely talked, same with Jarret and Denyse. I could not believe how awkward things had gotten. Jarret was the one helping me when we were headed to Faeron’s father’s house. When we camped Faeron and I slept without talking to each other like we usually did and I was sure that Jarret and Denyse did the same.

We got to Faeron’s father’s house before we even knew it though which was good because the days seemed really long. Faeron walked up the stairs and knocked on the door. A man came to the door; he had whitish grey hair and a kind smile that appeared when he saw who was at the door. He motioned for all of us to go in, so we did.

“Dad, this is Shyria.” Faeron said as soon as the door was closed.

“Wow you share the same name as the lost heir, do you know the story?” he asked, looking at me with the same kind smile he had when he saw Faeron.

“Dad, she kind of lived the story.” He answered.

He looked from me to Faeron, then back to me. I took my mask off and a huge smile crossed his face. He walked up to me and kissed my hand.

“Everyone thought you were dead.” He stated.

“I know that is how it was supposed to be.” I answered smiling back at him.

“My dear boy,” He started. “You have brought me hope and happiness all in the same day.”

“Has it gotten worse?” Faeron asked his tone of voice was upset again.

“Yes it has gotten horrible.” He said looking down at the ground. “They will take whatever they please whenever they want. They have even ripped families apart they have even taken wives from their husbands.”

Right then I think was when we all realized how stupid we were being. Faeron grabbed me and kissed me ever so passionately. Jarret kissed Denyse and she kissed him back.

“I am sorry.” I said as soon as we pulled away from each other.

“No I am sorry.” He returned kissing me again. “I was taking you for granted and I shouldn’t have done that.”

“I like you Faeron and I shouldn’t have pressured myself on you like that.” I stated blushing slightly.

“Do not worry I enjoy it and I like you too, a lot.” He answered.

“Denyse, I have liked you for a long time.” Jarret started as soon as Faeron and I stopped talking. “I want you to be a part of my life.”

She did not say anything she smiled and then answered with a kiss. Jarret smiled a huge smile when they pulled away. Faeron’s father looked around at all of us with a confused look on his face.

“Did I miss something?” He asked.

“It was nothing father.” Faeron answered as he put his arm around my waist. “We were all just being stubborn.”

“Uhh, well I will make up the beds in the two extra rooms I have then.” He said as he walked down the hallway with an extremely confused look on his face.

“I am going to go help him ok.” Faeron said, then kissed me on the cheek and followed his father.

Jarret followed so Denyse and I just sat on the couch for a while. We waited for them to get done but they were taking forever and when they finally finished they both left without saying anything to us. Faeron’s father came out and sat on the couch in between us.

“So where have you been hiding all this time?” He asked smiling again.

“Marrialli has been taking care of me.” I answered. “She has kept me hidden because if anyone would have seen who I am they would have killed me with no questions asked.”

“Sohn,” Denyse started. “Where did the guys go?”

“Faeron had to send a message to Neinna and they wanted to pick up some more bandages and stuff.” He answered.  “But anyways my dear how is Marrialli doing? I haven’t heard from her in a while.”

“Well… She died.” I answered as I looked down at the ground.

“Oh, what a shame, Marrialli was a good person.” He answered. “And a dear friend.”

“You do not seem upset about it?” I questioned.

“My dear when you are as old as I am you realize that if you let the death of another eat at you you’ll end up consuming your own life.” He answered. “It is not that I am not upset about it I am just not going to let it eat at me like I use too.”

“Yeah that is very true.” I stated realizing that I had been dwelling on Marrialli’s death.

“You are very beautiful, just like your mother.” He said.

“Thank you.” I said as I smiled a little.

“You have got her smile too and her gorgeous bright green eyes.” He added.

“Dad, you shouldn’t be hitting on my lady when I leave.” Faeron said jokingly as he walked through the door with a big smile on his face.

“Ha son, I was just telling her how much she looked like her mother.” He said as he got off the couch.

“So it is getting late.” Faeron started.

“But she has not told me how you guys met yet.” Sohn interrupted.

“Well that is a really long story, but I am up to telling it if that is alright with Faeron?” I questioned.

“Yeah it is fine if you are up for it but I still need to check your back and see if it is healed enough for me to take the stitches out.” He answered.

“Well, I had just left mine and Marrialli’s house.” I started and then paused as Faeron walked into one of the rooms. “She had just passed away and I had to bury her so I was upset. I walked for two almost three days before I stopped. I camped in a cave that proceeded deep into a mountain. When I woke up I left again. Eloan’s men found me and almost killed me but Faeron found me and stopped everything that they were about to do to me. I ended up passing out before I could see who he was. The next thing I knew I was waking up in his house wearing one of his shirts and with stitches on every wound.”

“So he saved your life.” Denyse stated.

“Yeah, pretty much.” I answered.

“It is a lot worse than what she is telling you, she just does not want you to feel bad for her.” Faeron said as he came out of the room. “She is making me sound like more of a hero than I am.”

He stood there looking into my eyes; I think he was trying to see if it was not going to bother me if he told them. After a few seconds he let out a huge sigh then looked down at the floor.

“When I had gotten to her all of her clothes were ripped off, she claims I got there before anything happened but one of the guards had hit her in the head really hard with the handle of his sword.” He added as he sat down on the couch next to me and put his arm around me.

“Wow, you two are perfect for each other.” Jarret said jokingly to break the awkward silence that followed Faeron’s part of the story.

“Yeah, I agree.” Denyse said.

“I still do not know how my son got such a pretty girl, especially a princess.” Sohn joked giving Faeron a playful push and a huge grin.

Faeron and I both blushed and looked away from each other. They all started laughing at us and I think we both realized that we still had not decided if we were together or not. Everyone else retreated to the beds for the night and Faeron and I were left on the couch stuck in the most awkward moment we have had since we met.

“We should probably get some sleep.” He stated nervously.

“Yeah,” I started. “I feel like we need to talk more though.”

“Yeah, you are right.” He answered as he let out a huge sigh.

“I do not think we can just go with it anymore, we both have feelings for each other and it is either we are or we are not.” I stated.

“I cannot imagine my life without you.” He said as he grabbed my hand.

“So we are together then?” I asked.

“I would not have it any other way so unless you do not want to then I guess we are.” He stated and then kissed my hand.

“That sounds good to me.” I answered and then stood up.

He got up also and helped me walk into his room. He opened the door and we walked in. The bed was made nicely with dark red silk bedding. There was a candle lit on the stand by the bed and there was a single rose lying on the bed on the side that I usually laid on.

Leave a Reply

