Shyria (11th)

Three days after I locked myself in the bedroom Denyse came in. She closed the door behind her and climbed on the bed with me. She sat on the bed for a while without saying anything at first. She cut all of the stitches out of my back since they were long overdue by now. When she finished she let out a big sigh.

“I came in here to try and make you feel better but I know that is impossible right now.” She started. “But maybe we can do something that will make you feel better?”

“What do you have in mind?” I asked as I wiped the tears from my cheeks.”

“We can do each other’s hair or we can go to the pub and get drunk.” She stated.” Or we can do both.”

“Yeah let’s do both.” I answered, attempting at a smile. I knew I would never feel any better if I locked myself up and constantly thought about him.

We did each other’s hair which started to help me feel better. I made her hair curly because she never wore it down and she looked beautiful with it down and curly made it even better. She put my hair into a ponytail which I never had all of my hair out of my face before. My hair was wavy anyways so she did not have to do much to make it look curly.

I put the necklace that Faeron bought me back on and we walked out of the room. Faeron was sitting on the chair by the couch. He had his face in his hands until the bedroom door shut. He looked up at me for a second until our eyes met then his head quickly dropped back into his hands.

It really bothered me that he did not say anything to me but we walked out of the house in silence and Jarret followed. We got to the pub and we sat down at the only table that was empty. Of course as soon as I walked in there was a bunch of whispering. It did not really bother me though, my mind was on Faeron and Faeron only at that point. Denyse and Jarret were talking and then Denyse headed up to the bar keep to get us some drinks.

“Why did he not come?” I asked quietly staring down at the table, trying my hardest not to sound like I was ready to cry again, even though I was about to.

“He is having a hard time right now; he cannot stand the thought of having to live his life without you.” He answered sounding really sympathetic. “He was planning on it though until he saw how bad you were hurting and decided it would be better if he stayed there.”

“Oh,” I answered, trying even harder not to cry.

Denyse came back and handed us our drinks. I sat there and drank it awfully quickly. A couple of drinks later Faeron walked in, but he did not come and sit by us at all. He made his way straight to the bar and sat down.  I watched as a woman walked up and sat down next to him. They started talking but after a few minutes she got up and walked away.

“Are you ok?” Denyse asked putting her hand on top of mine.

“I miss him so bad.” I answered with almost no control of my words.

I drank the rest of what was in my cup and then laid my head down on the table.  After a few minutes I just headed back to the house. I did not go to the room though; I did not even go inside the house I leant up against the wall outside. Eventually I slid down the wall until I was sitting and pulled my knees in close and cried some more. I hated how the tears wouldn’t stop flowing. I hated how he was not there for me. I hated how I could not be with him. I hated all the pity I was getting.

I was there for at least an hour crying. Denyse and Jarret came to find me but I told them that I just wanted to be alone. Truth was though I did not want to be alone; I wanted to be with Faeron. That was all I wanted. Faeron came up to me shortly after Denyse and Jarret left. I stood up and wiped my tears. We just looked at each other for a minute.

“I cannot stand to be without you anymore.” He said as he walked towards me and pushed a strand of hair that fell out of my ponytail back behind my ear.

“Faeron, I…” I started. “I… you are everything to me.”

He pulled me to him and passionately kissed me. He grabbed me by my hips and picked me up and pushed me against the wall being careful not to hurt me. He kept pushing his body against mine. He stopped kissing me just long enough to smile at me and then he started kissing me more aggressively. We were out there kissing each other until it got cold then he carried me inside the house. He set me down on the bed and took his shirt off. He then climbed on top of me.

“Faeron,” I started kissing him on the neck and chest breathing really heavily. “You are not just doing this because you have been drinking are you?”

“No, I did not even finish a drink.” He answered brushing hair out of my face again. “We can stop though if you want.”

I barely even let him finish that sentence before I started kissing him again. My body seemed to ache and tremble from the longing I had for him. I pulled his body down to mine as close as possible. He unlaced the top of my armor while kissing my chest and neck then he unlaced the bottom of my armor while he was kissing my chest.

He ran his hands up and down the sides of my naked body. I practically ripped his pants off and pulled his body back to mine. He kept one of his hands over my mouth in an attempt to keep everyone from hearing us, only lifting his hand to kiss me a few times. The passion of the moment seemed to have all the control over me and I didn’t really care if any one heard us. I never wanted to be without him again.

We woke up to a knock at the door again. Faeron put his pants on and answered it, once again not opening it enough for them to see me. It was Jarret this time and he seemed upset.

“What are you doing, you know you two cannot be together?” He questioned as he pushed the door open just enough to see the clothes all over the floor.

“We cannot be together in the end,” He started. “I will take her as long as I can have her.” He added as he looked back at me with a smile.

I could not help but blush after that.  He walked out of the room and closed the door behind him so I grabbed all my armor and put it back on, lacing it all up quickly. I walked out of the room and sure enough everyone watched me as I sat on the couch next to Faeron. Denyse smiled at me but Jarret looked pissed. Sohn and Neinna were not even there and we had no clue where they were.

“Are you crazy Faeron?” Jarret asked.  “Do you two not realize that you are just going to hurt yourselves more?”

“It is going to hurt no matter we do, I want to spend as much time with her as possible; wouldn’t you want to do the same if it was happening with you and Denyse?” He asked angrily.

“He is right Jarret,” Denyse started. “It is like as if he or she was dying, they would want to spend as much time with them as possible just for the memories.”

“Yeah, I guess.” He replied and then just left the house.

“Where are Sohn and Neinna?” I asked.

“My dad took off to take my mother back up the mountain to the house. She is doing a lot better now.” Faeron answered. “Why is he so pissed about this?”

“Because he is your best friend and the last thing he wants is to see you get hurt again.” Denyse stated.

“I guess I can understand that.” He said with an irritated tone in his voice.

“It should be easy to understand, what would you do if he was in this situation?” I asked hoping I didn’t say anything to bother him more than he already was.

“Probably the same as he does.” He answered.

“No matter how much we love each other Faeron in the end I have to marry some guy that I do not even know… unless he dies.” I added.

“Wait…” Faeron started.

“You cannot just kill him, although it was a good idea.” I interrupted, smiling at him.

“Well that was pretty much my only idea.” He said laughing a little as he stood up. “I better go talk to Jarret.”

“I should go find the elder.” I said as I got up and walked to the door. “Do you want to come with?” I asked Denyse.

“Sure.” She answered getting up and following me out.

We searched the entire camp to find her but we could not find her anywhere so we headed down to her house. She answered the door and invited us in. We sat down at the kitchen table and she offered us tea.

“So what brings you two here?” She asked.

“Well I came to see what the battle strategy is.” I stated.

“Yes we still need to decide on one of those, but we will wait for the response of the others.” She said. “And my dear I am sorry about having to tell you about you and Faeron and I know you two are trying to make the best of it.”

“Yes, we are managing.” I answered still upset but not as bad as I was.

“I understand you guys have decided to stay together until you have to split up.” She stated.

“Yes, we have, and I am happy we did, but how did you know?” I asked curious.

“I told him that you two could be together right now.” She answered with a smile. “You two make each other happy; you are the fire in each other’s hearts.”

“Thank you.” I said, blushing.

“Well we need a group of people to go to the dwarves and another group to go to the eastern camp.” She said.

“Well we can go.” I offered.

“We need the time to prepare but if you want to go when the other groups get back that would be fine.” She said. “Now we can use everyone’s help gathering leather and wood. The blacksmith can probably use some help also.”

“Why not ask some of the other elven camps to help us prepare? That would be the fastest and best way to get everything done.” I asked.

“We are, I have requested that the southern camp come help because they are great at making armor.” She stated with a smile.

“Sorry to get off subject but how am I supposed to know who I am supposed to wed?” I asked, with my heart practically breaking again.

“They usually keep paperwork on it in the castle, if it did not get thrown out or ruined.” She stated.

“And what if it did get ruined?” I asked.

“Then I do not know.” She stated. “But there is a lot of work to do, I have to get the healers ready and the new elder trained, Denyse are you ready for your training?”

“You are the next elder?” I asked in shock.

“Yes, I am.” She answered.

“How do you know who is supposed to be the next elder?” I asked. “She is my age.”

“Magical capabilities, she is very powerful, she can heal and also protect and defend, most elven only get the ability to heal but she has everything that the human mages do.” The elder answered. “It is the same with all elders.”

“Oh well I will go help the hunters gather the skins for the leather I need to practice my ranged weapons anyways.” I said as I got up and left.

I walked around until I finally found the group of hunters that were going out to hunt for the leather. They handed me a bow and a quiver full of arrows which I had never used before. Faeron came up right before we left I guess but I did not see him until we got up the mountain. They had us split up in to groups of two. They paired me and Faeron up and that was the only way that I knew he was there.

Leave a Reply

